🎄 Project - Kinderhilfswerk

Better future opportunities through mental health!

Violence, abuse, family or school problems, fears or depression permanently change the life of a child or young person. In the counselling centres of the Kinderhilfswerk in Linz and Vienna and in cooperation with psychotherapists all over Austria, we provide confidential and reliable help so that young people who are experiencing crises and traumas quickly receive the care that is right for them. We pay special attention to enabling families living in economically difficult circumstances to access our therapeutic and educational services. The inclusion of all relevant caregivers, no limits on the duration of treatment, cooperation with partners in the social and educational system and a focus on the individual resources of each child are central elements of our work. The aim is to strengthen the mental health of young people and thus enable them to have better opportunities in life.

Because children need our help!

The Corona pandemic is now challnging Kinderhilfswerk. According to a study conducted by the Donau-Uni Krems and the Medical University of Vienna in January 2021 with around 3,000 respondents, the mental health of children has deteriorated massively as a result of the pandemic. The results are worrying: 56 percent of the over 14-year-olds show depressive symptoms, half show anxiety symptoms. The frequency of these complaints, as well as that of sleep disorders, has increased five to ten times. Already 16 percent have suicidal thoughts, which is also a significant increase. The staff of Kinderhilfswerk also observes this development in their daily work in the counselling centres. Since May 2020, the demand for personal counselling sessions has increased significantly. Difficult situations such as stress, fears, loneliness or the potential for violence within one’s own four walls have increased significantly. It can be assumed that the need for professional therapeutic and educational support for young people in crisis situations will continue to increase in the coming months.

Achievements

Every year, the association supports about 2,500 children, young people and their families with therapeutic and educational services that strengthen their psychological, emotional and social development. On average, Kinderhilfswerk provides 10,000 counselling and therapy sessions per year for young people and their caregivers. Since 1999, more than 30,000 children, young adolescents and their families have received professional support. 29,000 sustaining members make the work of the association possible with their financial support. As the bearer of the Austrian seal of approval for donations, the Children’s Fund stands for compliance with strict criteria, trust, security and transparency.

🎄 Projekt - Kinderhilfswerk

Bessere Zukunftschancen durch psychische Gesundheit!

Gewalt, Missbrauch, familiäre oder schulische Probleme, Ängste oder Depressionen verändern das Leben eines Kindes oder Jugendlichen dauerhaft. In den Beratungsstellen des Kinderhilfswerks in Linz und Wien und in Kooperation mit Psychotherapeut*innen in ganz Österreich helfen wir vertraulich und verlässlich, damit junge Menschen, die Krisen und Traumen erleben, rasch die für sie passende Betreuung bekommen. Wir achten besonders darauf, Familien, die in wirtschaftlich schwierigen Verhältnissen leben, den Zugang zu unseren therapeutischen und pädagogischen Angeboten zu ermöglichen. Das Einbeziehen aller relevanten Bezugspersonen, keine Begrenzung bei der Behandlungsdauer, die Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern im Sozial- und Bildungssystem und der Fokus auf die individuellen Ressourcen jedes einzelnen Kindes sind zentrale Elemente unserer Arbeit. Das Ziel ist es, die psychische Gesundheit junger Menschen zu stärken und ihnen somit bessere Chancen für ihr Leben zu ermöglichen.

Weil Kinder unsere Hilfe brauchen!

Die Corona-Pandemie stellt das Kinderhilfswerk nun vor neue Herausforderungen. Laut einer Studie der Donau-Uni Krems und der Medizin-Uni Wien vom Jänner 2021 mit rund 3.000 Befragten, hat sich die psychische Gesundheit von Schüler*innen durch die Pandemie massiv verschlechtert. Die Ergebnisse sind besorgniserregend: 56 Prozent der über 14-Jährigen zeigen eine depressive Symptomatik, die Hälfte zeigt Angstsymptome. Die Häufigkeit dieser Beschwerden hat sich, wie auch jene von Schlafstörungen, verfünf- bis verzehnfacht. Bereits 16 Prozent haben suizidale Gedanken, auch das ist ein deutlicher Anstieg. Diese Entwicklung beobachten auch die Mitarbeiter*innen des Kinderhilfswerks in der täglichen Arbeit in den Beratungsstellen. Seit Mai 2020 steigt die Nachfrage an persönlichen Beratungsgesprächen deutlich an. Belastende Situationen wie Stress, Ängste, Vereinsamung oder das Gewaltpotenzial in den eigenen vier Wänden haben deutlich zugenommen. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass die Notwendigkeit professioneller therapeutischer und pädagogischer Unterstützung für junge Menschen in Krisensituation in den nächsten Monaten weiter zunehmen wird.

Erreichtes

Jährlich unterstützt der Verein ca. 2.500 Kinder, Jugendliche und deren Familien mit therapeutischen und pädagogischen Angeboten, die ihre psychische, emotionale und soziale Entwicklung stärken. Durchschnittlich leistet das Kinderhilfswerk 10.000 Beratungs- und Therapieeinheiten im Jahr für junge Menschen und ihre Bezugspersonen. Seit 1999 konnten mehr als 30.000 Kinder, Jugendliche und ihre Familien professionell begleitet werden. 29.000 Fördermitglieder ermöglichen mit ihrer finanziellen Unterstützung die Vereinsarbeit. Als Träger des österreichischen Spendengütesiegels steht das Kinderhilfswerk für die Einhaltung strenger Kriterien, Vertrauen, Sicherheit und Transparenz.